Pepperoni Rolls

Pepperoni rolls are the perfect appetizer if you are looking for something easy! Or instead of Friday night pizza takeout, serve it with a tossed salad…dinner done! I have been making these for as long as I can remember, and before that my mom made them. I have her hand written recipe, circa @1985. So for well over 36 years this recipe has stood the test of time!

This recipe uses frozen bread dough. It’s so easy. Thaw, roll it out, fill with your favorite pizza toppings, bake it, and serve.

How to Start

I use Rhodes white bread dough. Begin by thawing out the bread dough, following the directions are on the package.

Next, chop up some peppers. I use red or green depending on what I have in the fridge. Sauté the pepper in olive oil till soft, about 3-4 minutes, set aside to cool. In a separate bowl, add the pepperoni. You can use sliced pepperoni, or a thicker casing version and dice it(remember to remove the casing before baking). I don’t leave the slices whole, I typically chop them up. Add the cheese and beaten egg and the peppers, mix well.

Next, roll out the bread dough into a rectangle, as thin as you can get it. Spread the filling over the bread, roll it into a log, and place on parchment lined baking sheet, seam side down. Pour melted butter over the top, sprinkle a little parmesan cheese over the top and bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown and baked through. Serve with marinara sauce (see simple recipe at the end)

I included my mom’s hand written recipe below, and here’s my updated version. I love that I have her hand written recipes. Especially this one!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup pepperoni
  • 1 chopped green or red pepper, sautéed
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan Romano cheese plus more for sprinkling on top.
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 loaf of frozen bread dough
  • 1 -2 TBSP melted butter

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350º. Dice the peppers and sauté in a medium pan over medium heat until soft, about 3-4 minute. Set aside too cool. In a separate bowl, add cheese and chopped pepperoni, beaten egg, and cooled peppers. Roll out the thawed bread dough into a rectangle. Spread filling, and roll up into a log. Place seam side down on parchment lined baking sheet. Bake 35-40 minutes until golden brown. Serve with warm marinara sauce.(recipe follows)

There’s many different variations you can make depending on what you like. Here’s a few to try.

Variations to pepperoni

  • Make it a veggie roll, mushrooms, peppers and onions
  • Add green olives and change up the cheese to mozzarella or asiago cheese.
  • Make it a Mexican version with 1/2 cup taco seasoned beef, refried beans, black olives
  • Make it a Greek version, feta cheese, Kalamata olives, red peppers, 1tsp oregano, 1/4 cup chopped artichokes
  • Add crumbled Italian sausage for a heartier rolls
  • Make it sweet instead of savory with chopped apples, walnuts/dates, cinnamon

Simple Marinara Sauce

  • 1 can Cento brand crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp olive oli
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 11/2 tsp sugar

Heat olive oil and cook garlic until soft, about a minute. Add tomatoes, and spices and simmer for about an hour. Serve warm with pepperoni rolls.

Published by Patchworks.studio

Hello! My name is Lori. Welcome to my blog! I love comfort food! The old fashioned recipes that I grew up with! I love DIY projects! Refinishing something in my house, or finding antiques or something at the thrift shop and turning into something new again. I hope I can inspire you to try a renovation, craft, or recipe in your home.

2 thoughts on “Pepperoni Rolls

  1. And be sure to tell your guests it is just the appetizer!! Best. Christmas. Memory. I love that you have your mom’s recipe card here too. Beautiful handwriting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment